Useful & Related

Evolution of The Commissionerate

Evolution of The Commissionerate

State Government constituted Howrah Urban Police District comprising  the territorial areas and boundaries falling within 08 (eight) Police Stations namely Howrah, Shibpur, Bantra, Jagacha, Golabari, Malipanchghora, Bally and Liluah.  The said areas and boundaries of the said Police Stations in the district of Howrah is the town area consisting of a population of 14,84,954 (Fourteen lack eighty four thousand nine hundred fifty four). In exercise of the power conferred by sub-section (1) of section 8 of the Code of Criminal Procedure , 1973 (2 of 1974), the Governor was pleased to declare that on and from 1st day of the month of September of the year 2011, the areas to be a metropolitan area for the purpose of the said Code vide GO No. 3607- PL/PB/14M-138/04  dated, Kolkata the 26th August, 2011.

It was felt expedient to establish such a police system in the said metropolitan area thus declared, which by an unitary chain of command, functional specialization and legal authority coupled with accountability is capable of responding to the complex problems of public order, crime and internal security in a more comprehensive way and in consonance with the said objective and purpose , it was felt further expedient to vest the administration of police in the said metropolitan area of Howrah in an officer to be styled the Commissioner of Police, Howrah, a designated officer with the powers and authorities throughout the said metropolitan area of Howrah under the Police Act 1861.

Thus, Howrah Police Commissionerate started functioning on and from 1st September, 2011.


Control Room Numbers


Emergency Dial


Women Help Desk


Child Line

Night & Day

Senior Citizen Phone

907 367 3838

Senior Citizen WhatsApp

905 120 0100

Any Suggestion or Complains?

Tell Us